Three Changes to Buildcorp Wallaroos Squad for New Zealand Series

· Womens International
by Rugby Australia

The Buildcorp Wallaroos have had three squad changes ahead of the two Test Series against New Zealand kicking off this Saturday 10 August in Perth. 

Michelle Milward (Brumbies Women), Alana Elisaia (Queensland Women’s XV) and Iliseva Batibasaga (NSW Waratahs Women) come into the squad ahead of the first of two double-header Test matches at Optus Stadium, Perth followed by Eden Park, Auckland (August 17).  

Grace Hamilton will lead the squad against New Zealand following two standout performances against Japan where she was awarded the player of the match in both Tests earlier this month. 

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach, Dwayne Nestor said: “We have got two great opportunities over the next month against New Zealand and we’re really looking forward to the challenge. 

“A double header Test at Optus Stadium is going to make for a great occasion and the squad has really talked about making sure that we rise to that and work hard for each other in the gold jersey. 

“As a coaching group we have had some great selection headaches over the last month with every player in the squad putting their hands up for selection in the starting XV. 

“That attitude is key for the next three weeks and we’re looking forward to reconvening in Perth and getting back into the hard work. 

“Michelle, Alana and Ili each bring something different to this squad and it shows the depth we are continuing to build that you can bring in three top class players into this outfit without missing a beat.”  

The Buildcorp Wallaroos will meet the Black Ferns in Perth on Saturday 10 August as a part of a sold-out Bledisloe Cup double-header before heading across to Eden Park on Saturday 17 August with both matches to be broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS, Kayo and Radio.  

Kiri Lingman was not considered for selection due to a shoulder injury and Cobie-Jane Morgan was unavailable due to personal reasons. 


Millie Boyle (vc), Royals (Canberra), Queensland Women’s XV

Emily Chancellor, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women 

Rebecca Clough, Cottesloe, RugbyWA Women

Grace Hamilton (c), Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women

Alisha Hewett, GPS/ADFRU, Queensland Women’s XV

Evelyn Horomia, Western Sydney, NSW Waratahs Women

Asoiva (Eva) Karpani, Randwick, NSW Waratahs Women 

Michaela Leonard, Vikings, Brumbies Women 

Ashley Marsters, Harlequins, Melbourne Rebels Women 

Michelle Milward, Vikings, Brumbies Women 

Shannon Mato, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV 

Averyl Mitchell, Souths, Queensland Women’s XV 

Sera Naiqama, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women 

Liz Patu, Wests, Queensland Women’s XV 

Emily Robinson, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women 

Christina Sekona, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV 


Iliseva Batibasaga, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women 

Mhicca Carter, Cottesloe, RugbyWA Women

Georgia Cormick, Power House, Melbourne Rebels Women

Lori Cramer, University of Queensland, Queensland Women’s XV

Ariana Hira-Herangi, Kalamunda, RugbyWA Women 

Alysia Leafu-Fakaosilea, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV

Arabella McKenzie, Randwick, NSW Waratahs Women 

Mahalia Murphy, Campbelltown, NSW Waratahs Women 

Trilleen Pomare, Kalamunda, RugbyWA Women 

Sarah Riordan, Wests/ADFRU, Queensland Women’s XV 

Alana Elisaia*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV

Samantha Treherne, Sunnybank Queensland Women’s XV 

*Denotes uncapped

Buildcorp Wallaroos 2019 New Zealand Fixtures 

Saturday 10 August  

Australia v New Zealand, Optus Stadium, Perth 

Saturday 17 August 

Australia v New Zealand, Eden Park, Auckland