Buildcorp Wallaroos name side for Eden Park Test

· Womens International
by Rugby Australia

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach, Dwayne Nestor has made two changes to the starting XV for Australia’s clash against New Zealand at Eden Park with Shannon Mato and Mhicca Carter promoted from the bench.  

Carter moves to fullback with Mato coming in at flanker to combine with captain Grace Hamilton and vice-captain Mille Boyle in the backrow.  On the bench Brumbies Women stalwart, Michelle Milward comes into the reserves in replacement for Rebecca Clough. 

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach Dwayne Nestor said: “We were disappointed with the performance we put out last week as we know that wasn’t our best Rugby.     

“The good news is that we get another opportunity this week and the team is looking forward to getting back out on the park and playing at one of the most iconic venues in World Rugby. 

“Bringing Shannon (Mato) into the starting side, just changes things up for us a bit in the backrow and we know Mhicca (Carter) has got some explosive speed that can match her opposite numbers.

“The team has responded really well this week to the feedback that the coaching staff has given and we’re looking forward to getting back to playing Test Rugby.” 

Australia will be looking to bounce back after a disappointing performance in the opening Test of the New Zealand Series at Optus Stadium in Perth last week where the Buildcorp Wallaroos fell 10-47. 

The Buildcorp Wallaroos will play the Black Ferns at Eden Park, kicking off at 3pm AEST with the match to be broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS, Kayo and Radio.

Buildcorp Wallaroos to face Black Ferns:

1. Liz Patu, Wests, Queensland Women’s XV, 22 caps 

2. Averyl Mitchell, Souths (Brisbane), Queensland Women’s XV, 3 caps 

3. Evelyn Horomia, Brothers, NSW Waratahs Women, 6 caps 

4. Michaela Leonard, Vikings, Brumbies Women, 3 caps 

5. Alisha Hewett, GPS/ADFRU, Queensland Women’s XV, 20 caps 

6. Millie Boyle (vc), Royals (Canberra), Queensland Women’s XV, 11 caps 

7. Shannon Mato, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV, 3 caps

8. Grace Hamilton (c), Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women, 14 caps 

9. Georgia Cormick, Power House, Melbourne Rebels Women XV, 3 caps 

10. Trilleen Pomare, Kalamunda, Rugby WA Women, 10 caps 

11. Lori Cramer, University of Queensland, Queensland Women’s XV, 3 caps 

12. Ariana Hira-Herangi, Kalamunda, Rugby WA Women, 3 caps 

13. Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV, 3 caps

14. Mahalia Murphy, Campbelltown/Maitland, NSW Waratahs Women, 10 caps 

15. Mhicca Carter, Cottesloe, Rugby WA Women, 5 caps 


16. Ash Marsters, Harlequins, Melbourne Rebels Women, 9 caps 

17. Emily Robinson, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women, 10 caps  

18. Christina Sekona, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV, 2 caps  

19. Michelle Milward, Vikings, Brumbies Women, 8 caps  

20. Emily Chancellor, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women, 5 caps  

21. Iliseva Batibasaga, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women, 14 caps 

22. Arabella McKenzie, Randwick, NSW Waratahs Women, 3 caps  

23. Samantha Treherne, Sunnybank, Queensland Women’s XV, 13 caps