Log in

2021 President's XV Buildcorp Super W squad announced

Thu, 10/06/2021, 5:44 am
Rugby Australia
by Rugby Australia

The President’s XV have unveiled their inaugural squad ahead of their 2021 Buildcorp Super W campaign.

Players from across the country will assemble in Coffs Harbour on June 22 to prepare for their first match against the Western Force on June 24 during round one of the competition.

Former and current Wallaroos have been named in the squad with front-rower Melissa Fatu and uncapped Jemima McCalman selected to run out with the newly-formed side.

Previously with the NSW Waratahs, Fatu will be looking for a return to the Wallaroos conversation and is expected to have a strong outing while in Coffs Harbour.

While not yet capped for the national side, McCalman has been in incredible form of late and was selected in the Buildcorp Wallaroos 2021 Training Squad at the end of last year and is looking to impress the Wallaroos coaching staff ahead of team selection for the two match Test series against Samoa.

Former RugbyWA winger Claudia Neilson has also been named in the side after returning to her home state of New South Wales to represent Sydney Uni in the Aon University Sevens competition.

While back at home, Neilson has played for the Tamworth Pirates in New England prior to her competition-topping performances during the Aon University Sevens tournament.

Head Coach Inge Visser has worked hard to assemble a number of prospective pathway players to ensure sustainable depth in the competition for years to come.

“I’m thrilled to be finally able to name the first ever President’s XV side ahead of this very special competition,” Visser said.

“A lot of hard work from both team staff and administrators has gone in to get the players together and ready for our June 24 start date.”

“The team will play a crucial part in the development of players from across the country giving more females the chance to play rugby at the top level in Australia.”

“I think this team will surprise a lot of people in this competition, having 14 pathway players that make up this squad these players certainly have a lot to prove.

Round one of the Super W competition will kick-off on Saturday 19 June with the Reds hosting the Waratahs in Brisbane and the Brumbies hosting the Rebels in Queanbeyan.

The tournament will then move to Coffs Harbour on Thursday 24 June with the Western Force playing the President’s XV as the first match on the Mid-North Coast.

Tickets to the Coffs Harbour matches including finals will be available tomorrow (11 June) via Ticketek.


2021 President’s XV Buildcorp Super W Squad


Alaya Cook - QLD
Alexandera Sulusi – Gordon
Candice Clay - Hunter Wildfires
Emma Bradford - Hunter Wildfires
Grace Qarinavlu – QLD
Hana Lane – Wests Bulldogs
Karen Nabularua - NSW
Kate Holland – Hunter Wildfires
Melissa Fatu – Gordon
Mikaela Trbojevic – Eastern Suburbs (NSW)
Moniqca Mo'ale – Randwick
Rosie Ebbage - Gordon
Tasmin Shepperd – Sydney University
Trudi Peterson – Hunter Wildfires
Yolanda Maiava – Western Sydney Two Blues


Claudia Nielson – Tamworth Pirates
Isla Norman-Bell – Sydney University
Jasmin Huriwai - Western Sydney Two Blues
Jemima McCalman – Sydney Uni
Jetaya Faifua – Bond University
Katie Sampford – Hunter Wildfires
Maraea Tupai – Wests Bulldogs
Paris Ignegneri – Manly
Renae Nona - Sunnybank
Renez Bates – Easts (QLD)
Shenay Ball - Terrigal
Tylah Vallance – Sydney University
Vani Va'aga - Sunnybank

Wallaroos announce squad for Pacific Four
GAME ON! Australia confirmed as host of Rugby World Cup 2027 and 2029
The Wallaroos couldn't find a way past Japan. Photo: Brendan Hertel
Five things we learnt from Wallaroos-Japan
Wasteful Wallaroos beaten by huge Japanese defensive effort

The Wallaroos are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network