Log in

Patu, Hamilton return as Wallaroos confirm side for Black Ferns

Thu, 25/08/2022, 12:27 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Wallaroos fullback Lori Cramer recounts how the First Nations Yugambeh anthem came to fruition.

Wallaroos coach Jay Tregonning has made a number of changes as they look to bounce back against the Black Ferns in Adelaide.

Tregonning has recalled forwards Liz Patu and Grace Hamilton into the starting side, providing valuable experience as they hunt for their maiden win over the Kiwis.

Purchase your tickets for the O'Reilly Cup and the Rugby Championship

Patu joins a brand-new front-row, with Waratahs duo Adiana Talakai and Eva Karpani elevated from the bench.

Atasi Lafai slots into the second-row, swapping with Kaitlan Leaney to partner Michaela Leonard.

Meanwhile, Hamilton replaces Grace Kemp, who was ruled out due to a head knock during training.

Along with this, Tregonning has named two debutants with Siokapesi Palu and Bienne Terita selected in the backs.

Palu slots into inside centre for Cecilia Smith, with the Brumby experiencing a breakout season during Super W.

”We’ve made some changes this week off the back of last week’s result, as well as some minor injuries within the squad,” said Tregonning.

“We’re lucky to have built significant depth within the group over the last few months,and the players that have come into the starting line-up this week are deserving of their opportunity.

“We have two new players coming into the backline this week in Siokapesi and Bienne, and we believe they both have a lot to offer the team.”

Meanwhile, Terita caps off an incredible 2022 with her Wallaroos debut following her Sevens debut in Malaga in January.

She will play on the wing along with Reds flyer Ivania Wong, with Pauline Piliae-Rasabale retaining the fullback jersey.

Waratahs pair Iliseva Batibasaga and Arabella McKenzie provide stability in the halves, looking to cap off their maiden Test in South Australia with a win.

Rebels hooker Ashley Marsters and Waratahs prop Bridie O'Gorman join Emily Robinson in the reserves, with loose forward Piper Duck retaining her spot after coming on and scoring a late try.

The reserve backs remain the same with Layne Morgan set to be injected late alongside veteran Trilleen Pomare and Lori Cramer.

“We’ve had another solid week of training, off the back of an in-depth review following last weekend’s match, and the team are really looking forward to playing in Adelaide for the first time ever this weekend,” Tregonning added

“This is a historic game, it’s not often we get to spread the word of Rugby to South Australia, so the team is hoping for a solid turnout from the locals at one of Australia’s most iconic sporting grounds on Saturday.”

The Test between the Wallaroos and the Black Ferns kicks off at 12:15pm ACST (12:45pm AEST) this Saturday, 27 August, at Adelaide Oval. and will be shown live, ad-free and on-demand on Stan Sport and Channel 9.

Wallaroos to face Black Ferns at Adelaide Oval on Saturday 27 August

1.Liz Patu - Reds 

2. Adiana Talakai - Waratahs 

3. Eva Karpani - Waratahs 

4. Atasi Lafai - Waratahs 

5. Michaela Leonard - Brumbies 

6. Emily Chancellor - Waratahs 

7.Shannon Parry (c) - Reds 

8. Grace Hamilton - Waratahs 

9. Iliseva Batibasaga - Waratahs 

10. Arabella McKenzie - Waratahs 

11. Ivania Wong - Reds 

12. Siokapesi Palu* - Brumbies 

13. Georgina Friedrichs - Waratahs 

14. Bienne Terita* - Aussie Sevens 

15. Pauline Pilae-Rasambale - Waratahs 


16. Ashley Marsters - Rebels 

17. Emily Robinson - Waratahs 

18. Bridie O’Gorman - Waratahs 

19. Kaitlan Leaney - Waratahs 

20. Piper Duck - Waratahs 

21. Layne Morgan - Waratahs 

22. Trilleen Pomare - Western Force 

23. Lori Cramer - Waratahs 

Black Ferns

1.Pip Love

2. Luka Connor

3. Amy Rule

4. Maiakawanakaulani Roos

5. Joanah Ngan Woo

6. Alana Bremner

7. Kendra Reynolds

8. Kennedy Simon co-captain

9. Ariana Bayler

10. Ruahei Demant – co-captain

11. Ayesha Leti-I’iga

12. Chelsea Semple

13. Logo-I-Pulotu Lemapu Atai’i (Sylvia) Brunt

14. Ruby Tui

15. Grace Steinmetz


16. Natalie Delamare

17. Krystal Murray

18. Santo Taumata

19. Chelsea Bremner

20. Charmaine McMenamin

21. Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu

22. Renee Holmes

23. Hazel Tubic

Arabella McKenzie: Ready to Light up the World Cup
Women's Rugby World Cup set for record crowd
Parry, Chancellor and Friedrichs: The Wallaroos 'Three Sisters'
RJ Williams and Rugby Australia have today confirmed a multi-year partnership. Photo Supplied
Rugby Australia confirms partnership with RM Williams

The Wallaroos are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network