Log in

Wallaroos and Sevens legend Cheryl McAfee inducted into World Rugby Hall of Fame

Wed, 27/10/2021, 8:05 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Wallabies coach Dave Rennie has spoken to media after the withdrawal of Samu Kerevi and Sean McMahon from the Spring Tour.

Wallaroos and Sevens legend Cheryl McAfee has been honoured for her incredible career, inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame, No. 152.

McAfee (née Soon) played an integral role in the first Rugby World Cup Sevens in 2009, scoring the first try in tournament history against China.

The only place to watch All Blacks v Wales is on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

She would go on to lead Australia to the title, defeating New Zealand 15-10 in Dubai.

The following year, McAfee would guide the Wallaroos to third at the 2010 Rugby World Cup, which remains Australia's highest finish at the event.

The induction comes in a fitting year for the Sevens pioneer, having played a major role in the successful bid for the sport to join the Olympics.

She would join the World Rugby’s Rugby Committee in 2012 after retiring two years earlier, helping the promotion of women's and Sevens Rugby.

Rugby Australia CEO Andy Marinos said in a statement “Being inducted into World Rugby’s Hall of Fame is a huge honour and I’d like to congratulate Cheryl as well as the other six inductees on their admission into such a select group.

“Cheryl has been a terrific advocate for Rugby, in particular the Women’s game, and her passion has been a driving force in the game’s growth in Australia.”


WITHDRAW: Kerevi, McMahon out of Spring Tour

BUILDING: Pasifika announce signings


“On behalf of World Rugby, I would like to congratulate our six Hall of Fame inductees, who did not just make their mark on the field of play, but who has played a significant role in advancing the sport," World Rugby Chairman and Hall of Fame inductee Sir Bill Beaumont added

“In this Olympic year, we are recognising those who have all played a significant role in cementing rugby as an Olympic sport.

Their contributions should not be underestimated in terms of the global growth of rugby. We are also acknowledging the contributions of those who have left their mark on the oldest international fixture in the game.”

She joins the Hall of Fame alongside Osea Kolinisau (Fiji), Humphrey Kayange (Kenya), Huriana Manuel-Carpenter (New Zealand) Will Carling (England) and Jim Telfer (Scotland)

Women's Rugby World Cup set for record crowd
Parry, Chancellor and Friedrichs: The Wallaroos 'Three Sisters'
RJ Williams and Rugby Australia have today confirmed a multi-year partnership. Photo Supplied
Rugby Australia confirms partnership with RM Williams
'She’s in some of the best form of her career': Tregonning excited by Williams return for World Cup

The Wallaroos are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network