Log in

Wallaroos announce squad for Pacific Four

Thu, 19/05/2022, 1:57 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Wallaroos have kickstarted their 'Road to New Zealand' with a 36-19 victory over Fijiana.

The Wallaroos have confirmed their 32-player squad for next month's Pacific Four series in New Zealand.

Wallaroos coach Jay Tregonning has kept a settled squad from the Road to New Zealand series, making just one change.

Catch every game of the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific season on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

Queensland Reds front-rower Bree-Anna Cheatham will return to the group after missing the first part of the year due to injury.

There are nine uncapped players in the squad, including Brumbies duo5r Grace Kemp and Lilyann Mason-Spice after their standout performances during the Australian Barbarians match against Japan.

“We learnt a lot from our first two Test matches of the year," Tregonning said in a statement.

"I know the side will strive for more consistency against three challenging opponents in the Pacific Four Series.

“It’s great we have such a quick turnaround between Test matches this year to support our preparation for the Rugby World Cup. To play against three of the top teams in the world is an exciting experience and is certainly a prospect this group has been itching for.

“It will also be invaluable for us to play in two of the Rugby World Cup venues ahead of the tournament later this year."

The Wallaroos will open their account against world number two Black Ferns on June 6 in Tauranga, their first match-up against the Kiwis since 2019.

They will then travel to Waitakere to play the USA on June 12, before rounding out their tournament against Canada six days later in Whangārei.

Wallaroos Pacific Four Series Squad (Team, Tests played)

Iliseva Batibasaga (NSW Waratahs, 17 caps)

Emily Chancellor (NSW Waratahs, 8 caps)

Bree-Anna Cheatham* (Queensland Reds)

Annabelle Codey* (Queensland Reds)

Lori Cramer (6 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Piper Duck (2 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Georgina Friedrichs (2 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Grace Hamilton (17 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Tamika Jones* (Western Force)

Asoiva (Eva) Karpani (4 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Grace Kemp* (Brumbies)

Kaitlan Leaney (2 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Michaela Leonard (5 caps, Brumbies)

Ashley Marsters (12 caps, Melbourne Rebels)

Lillyann Mason-Spice* (Brumbies)

Jemima McCalman (2 caps, Brumbies)

Arabella McKenzie (6 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Tiarna Molloy* (Queensland Reds)

Layne Morgan (2 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Mahalia Murphy (13 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Sera Naiqama (2 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Bridie O'Gorman (2 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Siokapesi Palu* (Brumbies)

Shannon Parry (14 caps, Queensland Reds)

Liz Patu (25 caps, Queensland Reds)

Pauline Piliae-Rasabale (2 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Trilleen Pomare (13 caps, Western Force)

Madison Schuck (2 caps, Queensland Reds)

Cecilia Smith* (Queensland Reds)

Adiana Talakai (2 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Melanie Wilks* (Queensland Reds)

Ivania Wong (2 caps, Queensland Reds) *denotes uncapped

Buildcorp Wallaroos’ Pacific Four Series 2022 Match Schedule (all times local)

Monday 6 June New Zealand v Australia, The Domain, Tauranga, New Zealand (14:45)

Sunday 12 June

USA v Australia, The Trusts Arena, Waitakere, Auckland (12:15)

Saturday 18 June

Australia v Canada, Semenoff Stadium, Whangarei (13:30)

Women's Rugby World Cup set for record crowd
Parry, Chancellor and Friedrichs: The Wallaroos 'Three Sisters'
RJ Williams and Rugby Australia have today confirmed a multi-year partnership. Photo Supplied
Rugby Australia confirms partnership with RM Williams
'She’s in some of the best form of her career': Tregonning excited by Williams return for World Cup

The Wallaroos are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network