Wallaroos name side for Canada clash

Thu, Jun 16, 2022, 4:56 AM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Wallaroos travelled to Tauranga for the first match of the Pacific Four series against the Black Ferns.

Wallaroos coach Jay Tregonning has opted for several changes as they prepare for the final Pacific Four match against Canada on June 18.

It will see Piper Duck, Layne Morgan and Cecilia Smith start in their first Test matches after impressive performances from the bench.

Catch every game of the Pacific Four competition live on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

Duck comes into blindside flanker for Emily Chancellor, joined by captain Shannon Parry and Grace Hamilton.

Meanwhile, Morgan forms a new-look halves combination with Arabella McKenzie, who is elevated to the starting side after her strong showing against the USA.

They are joined in the starting side by Reds centre Cecilla Smith, pushing Pauline Piliae-Rasabale back to fullback and Mahalia Murphy and Trilleen Pomare to the bench.

“It’s going to be great to see what Arabella, Piper, Cecilia and Layne can do from the initial kick-off in this game," Tregonning said in a statement.

“Every player we’ve shifted into the starting team have been extremely impressive in our last couple of games and the team is eager to stamp their authority of this game early."

Brumbies backrower Grace Kemp is in line for her debut off the bench, joined by the returning Sera Naiqama.

Kemp produced a dominant performance for the Australian Barbarians against Japan last month, looking to make an impact if called upon.

“Again, we’ve been able to debut several players during the Series and it’s showcased the depth we have in the squad, I think this will be clear to see when Grace (Kemp) gets her opportunity to play, she’s an extremely talented player," Tregonning added.

“We’ve had some pretty close results during our time in New Zealand and the side has taken a lot away from our recent performances however, we’ll be looking to ensure we finish the Series on a positive note against Canada this Saturday.”

The game will be shown LIVE, ad-free and on demand on Stan Sport from 11:30 am.

Buildcorp Wallaroos team to play Canada at Semenoff Stadium, Whangarei on Saturday 18 June, 11:30am AEST.

1.Liz Patu – Queensland Reds (27 caps)

2. Ashley Marsters – Melbourne Rebels (14 caps)

3. Bridie O’Gorman – NSW Waratahs (4 caps)

4. Michaela Leonard – Brumbies (8 caps)

5. Kaitlan Leaney – NSW Waratahs (4 caps)

6. Piper Duck – NSW Waratahs (4 caps)

7. Shannon Parry – Queensland Reds (16 caps)

8. Grace Hamilton – NSW Waratahs (19 caps)

9. Layne Morgan – NSW Waratahs (4 caps)

10. Arabella McKenzie – NSW Waratahs (8 caps)

11. Lori Cramer – NSW Waratahs (8 caps)

12. Cecilia Smith – Queensland Reds (2 caps)

13. Georgina Friedrichs – NSW Waratahs (4 caps)

14.Jemima McCalman – Brumbies (3 caps)

15. Pauline Piliae-Rasabale – NSW Waratahs (4 caps)


16. Tiarna Molloy – Queensland Reds (1 cap)

17. Madison Schuck – Queensland Reds (4 caps)

18. Asoiva Karpani – NSW Waratahs (6 caps)

19. Sera Naiqama – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

20. Grace Kemp – Brumbies*

21. Iliseva Batibasaga – NSW Waratahs (19 caps)

22. Trilleen Pomare – Western Force (15 caps)

23. Mahalia Murphy – NSW Waratahs (15 caps)

Canada team to face Wallaroos

1.Olivia DeMerchant

2. Emily Tuttosi

3. DaLeaka Menin

4. Tyson Beukeboom

5. Abby Duguid

6. Gabrielle Senft

7. Pamphinette Buisa

8. Sophie de Goede

9. Justine Pelletier

10. Taylor Perry

11. Paige Farries

12. Alexandra Tessier

13. Sara Kaljuvee

14. Alysha Corrigan

15. Elissa Alarie


16. Laura Russell

17. Brittany Kassil

18. Alex Ellis

19. Emma Taylor

20. McKinley Hunt

21. Sara Svoboda

22. Brianna Miller

23. Maddy Grant


The Wallaroos are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2023 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network