Log in

Wallaroos confirm two debutants for Pacific Four opener against Black Ferns

Sat, 04/06/2022, 2:27 am
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
The Wallaroos have kickstarted their 'Road to New Zealand' with a 36-19 victory over Fijiana.

Wallaroos coach Jay Tregonning has named two debutants for their Pacific Four opener against New Zealand on June 6 at Tauranga Domain.

Queensland duo Annabelle Codey and Cecilia Smith have been named on the bench, in line for their potential Wallaroos debut if called upon.

Catch every game of the Pacific Four live on Stan Sport. Start your Free Sport Trial Now

Tregonning has also made four changes to the starting side, headlined by the elevation of Trilleen Pomare as the Western Force playmaker starts at flyhalf.

The 29-year-old featured in the opening two games against Fijiana and Japan off the bench, which sees Waratah Arabella McKenzie join Smith on the bench.

Along with this, there has been another complete front-row shift with Liz Patu, Adiana Talakai and Bridie O'Gorman selected to start.

The trio played a pivotal role in their win over Fijiana, swapping with Ashley Marsters, Madison Schuck and Eva Karpani as they return to the bench.

“The team has just come off a really valuable week back on the Gold Coast and we are excited to be in New Zealand ahead of the competition," Tregonning said in a statement.

“Playing New Zealand in the first game of the Pacific Four really feels like a prelude for what is to come in the first match of the pool games at the Rugby World Cup.

“While the Black Ferns are formidable opponents this match will be perfect for our preparations before we travel back to New Zealand in October.”

It will mark the first time since 2019 the two rivals will face off, with ten players remaining from their 37-8 defeat at Eden Park.

Every game of the Pacific Four competition will be shown live, ad-free and on demand on Stan Sport.

Buildcorp Wallaroos team to play New Zealand at Tauranga Domain on Monday 6 June at 12:45pm AEST.

1. Liz Patu – Queensland Reds (25 caps)

2. Adiana Talakai – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

3. Bridie O’Gorman – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

4. Michaela Leonard - Brumbies (5 caps)

5. Kaitlan Leaney – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

6. Emily Chancellor – NSW Waratahs (8 caps)

7. Shannon Parry (C) - Queensland Reds (14 caps)

8. Grace Hamilton – NSW Waratahs (17 caps)

9. Iliseva Batibasaga – NSW Waratahs (17 caps)

10. Trilleen Pomare – Western Force (13 caps)

11. Ivania Wong - Queensland Reds (2 caps)

12. Pauline Piliae-Rasabale – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

13. Georgina Friedrichs – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

14. Mahalia Murphy – NSW Waratahs (13 caps)

15. Lori Cramer - NSW Waratahs (6 caps)


16. Ashley Marsters – Melbourne Rebels (12 caps)

17. Madison Schuck - Queensland Reds (2 caps)

18. Asoiva (Eva) Karpani – NSW Waratahs (4 caps)

19. Annabelle Codey – Queensland Reds*

20. Piper Duck – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

21. Layne Morgan – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

22. Cecilia Smith – Queensland Reds*

23. Arabella McKenzie – NSW Waratahs (6 caps)

Arabella McKenzie: Ready to Light up the World Cup
Women's Rugby World Cup set for record crowd
Parry, Chancellor and Friedrichs: The Wallaroos 'Three Sisters'
RJ Williams and Rugby Australia have today confirmed a multi-year partnership. Photo Supplied
Rugby Australia confirms partnership with RM Williams

The Wallaroos are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network