Log in

Buildcorp Wallaroos announce Player of National Interest Squad

Tue, 06/07/2021, 12:00 am
Rugby Australia
by Rugby Australia

Following the conclusion of Buildcorp Super W 2021, a 40 strong Buildcorp Wallaroos Player of National Interest squad has been selected.

Eight new players have been added to the squad including Coffs Harbour local Kaitlan Leaney and Queensland prodigy Destiny Brill off the back of impressive performances in Buildcorp Super W.

Leaney, who played in the recent national competition in her hometown, is a hard running second rower, while Brill has been on the Wallaroo radar for some time. The dynamic back showed her ability to seamlessly transition between halfback to fly-half in Coffs Harbour.

Other notable additions include NSW Waratahs Margot Vella, Queensland Reds Ivania Wong, Brumbies Siokapesi Palu and Jade Te Aute from Melbourne Rebels, who at 17 years old becomes the youngest member of the squad.

For the first time, the squad will include a member of the President’s XV with Jemima McCalman’s inclusion a testament to the success of the newly formed side.

Players will train with squad mates in their selected PONI groups over the next two months back in their states, alongside fulfilling club rugby commitments. The state-based program will be managed centrally by Rugby Australia, supported by staff from each state.

Recruitment for the Wallaroos coaches has already commenced following the resignation of the Wallaroos Head Coach and Assistant Coach and the new staffing team will be in place prior to September.

General Manager, Women’s Rugby Jilly Collins said “Many congratulations to all those selected. The Wallaroos Selection Panel had many tough decisions to make, with so many players performing well in Super W 2021.”

“Rugby Australia looks forward to announcing new Test match dates for the Wallaroos shortly. We are working hard with all our partners to confirm the revised schedule, following the postponement of the PacificAus Sports Wallaroos Samoa Test series, due to current COVID-19 restrictions."

Buildcorp Wallaroos Player of National Interest Squad

*Denotes new addition into squad

Iliseva Batibasaga - NSW Waratahs
Destiny Brill - Queensland Reds*
Emily Chancellor - NSW Waratahs
Bree-Anna Cheatham - Queensland Reds
Georgia Cormick - Melbourne Rebels
Lori Cramer - NSW Waratahs
Piper Duck - NSW Waratahs
Anita Faimasui-Brown - NSW Waratahs
Georgina Friedrichs - NSW Waratahs
Aleena Greenhalgh - Queensland Reds
Grace Hamilton - NSW Waratahs
Fiona Jones - NSW Waratahs
Eva Karpani - NSW Waratahs
Grace Kemp - Brumbies
Atasi Lafai - NSW Waratahs
Kaitlan Leaney - NSW Waratahs*
Michaela Leonard – Brumbies
Lucy Lockhart - Queensland Reds
Ashley Marsters - Melbourne Rebels
Lillyann Mason-Spice – Brumbies
Jemima McCalman – President’s XV
Arabella McKenzie - NSW Waratahs
Tiarah Minns - Melbourne Rebels
Tiarna Molloy - Queensland Reds*
Layne Morgan - NSW Waratahs
Mahalia Murphy - NSW Waratahs
Sera Naiqama - NSW Waratahs
Bridie O'Gorman - NSW Waratahs
Siokapesi Palu – Brumbies*
Liz Patu - Queensland Reds
Pauline Piliae - NSW Waratahs
Christina Sekona - Queensland Reds
Cecilia Smith - Queensland Reds
Tayla Stanford - Brumbies
Maya Stewart - NSW Waratahs
Adiana Talakai - NSW Waratahs
Jade Te Aute - Melbourne Rebels*
Margot Vella - NSW Waratahs*
Melanie Wilks - Queensland Reds*
Ivania Wong - Queensland Reds*

Wallaroos announce squad for Pacific Four
GAME ON! Australia confirmed as host of Rugby World Cup 2027 and 2029
The Wallaroos couldn't find a way past Japan. Photo: Brendan Hertel
Five things we learnt from Wallaroos-Japan
Wasteful Wallaroos beaten by huge Japanese defensive effort

The Wallaroos are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network