World Rugby confirms Wallaroos will join Pacific Four series

Wed, Sep 29, 2021, 7:28 PM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
Wallabies win comfortably in Townsville against the Pumas

World Rugby has confirmed the Wallaroos will join USA, Canada and New Zealand as part of the inaugural Pacific Four Series.

The USA and Canada will kick off the tournament later in the year in the form of a soft launch, with the four-team format set to formally debut in 2022.

Click here to get your tickets for the eToro Rugby Championship

The tournament will serve as major preparation ahead of next year's World Cup, along with acting as one of the main annual qualifying routes for the top tier of the WXV tournament, which was announced at the start of the year.

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said in a statement: “World Rugby is committed to investing into high-performance competitions to increase the competitiveness of the women’s game at elite level.

“We had previously announced a new cross-regional tournament featuring New Zealand, Australia, USA and Canada as part of the WXV competition qualification structure, which starts in 2023.

“The Pacific Four Series will provide quality playing opportunities and further support teams as they prepare to compete at Rugby World Cup 2021 in New Zealand next year.

“We look forward to watching teams compete again at the highest level for what will undoubtedly be a thrilling showcase of women's elite rugby from some of the best teams in the world."


COMING BACK: Petaia eyes fullback switch

READY TO FIRE: SA name squad to face All Blacks

KNOW YOUR ENEMY: Kerevi drawing off Barrett

This news was welcomed by RA CEO Andy Marinos after a COVID-interrupted 2021 season for the Wallaroos, who is keen to continue to build their schedule after the appointment of new coach Jay Tregonning.

“This announcement comes as a reward for our Wallaroos squad who have a COVID impacted year. This competition will provide valuable game time ahead of the RWC later in the 2022 season," he added.

“Rugby Australia are planning to put together a full calendar for the women’s game in 2022 and the Pacific Four Series is as another great spectacle that our Wallaroos fans can look forward to.

“Under newly appointed head coach Jay Tregonning, the players have continued to train and work hard in preparation for the start of the 2022 Super W pre-season before reconvening for the 2022 international calendar."


The Wallaroos are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2023 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network